Friday, December 9, 2011

robocalls to cellphones

All 50 AG's are against this. Petition they suggest is here > https://www.popvox.com/bills/us/112/hr3035
If you want to robocall all the supporters of HR 3035, this is a site that allows you to do that >
http://www.reverserobocall.com/products/hr-3035-coalition
Regards,

Doom

Why is it that so many religious figures find it credible to blame famine, plague, floods, on the evil of mankind and God's disapproval, yet deny climate change?

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Women ask for it

Sometimes I read sites when I know full well they may make me mad. Today one did not disappoint.

This writer, a married man, family type, writes often about women and fashion. Also women and politics, more specifically, women in patriarchal societies.

Here's what he likes: Women who are religious, his religion. Women who dress well and modestly. Women who are  conservative. Women who protest a different religion.

Here's what he writes about: Women who shun/ignore/leave their religion and die unhappy/young/abused. Women who live on the wild side, to any extent, and suffer for it. Women who live pure, conservative lives and do well.

Friday, November 25, 2011

Remarks

 Someone named kishke (no caps, and I don't know why anyone would want to be called kishke) recently commented on another site, thusly:

"People over the age of 12 who join in responsive chants, with the exception of counselors in summer camp, are idiots. People who chant mindless slogans whose purpose is to avoid reasoned discussion are idiots. No surprise, then, that the OWS people are idiots."

Funny, my first exposure to responsive chants was in church. I think most religions have responsive chants.

I may break my arm patting myself on the back

...realistic, moderate progressives always face the challenge of portraying a more complex reality than extremists recognize.
Gershom Gorenberg

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Michelle Bachmann

From Slate Magazine:

Two nights ago on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, Fallon's house band, The Roots, played the Fishbone song "Lyin' Ass Bitch," while Michele Bachmann walked on stage (full lyrics from Weigel here). Yesterday, The Roots drummer Questlove made a classic non-apology to Bachmann. You see, he apologizes if her "feelings were hurt," but not for playing the song in the first place:
"The performance was a tongue-in-cheek and spur of the moment decision. The show was not aware of it and I feel bad if her feelings were hurt. That was not my intention."
Jimmy Fallon Tweeted the following real apology: "I'm honored that @michelebachmann was on our show yesterday and I'm so sorry about the intro mess. I really hope she comes back." But this was only after he joked that "@Questlove is grounded," giving the whole thing a colluding frat boy air.
I can't believe I even have to make this point aloud, but it's never ok to call a woman a bitch, especially not in such a public way, when she is an invited guest. I don't care if she spreads misinformation about HPV or has insane ideas about women's bodies. It's not clever or cute, and Bachmann deserves a real apology from The Roots--not the same "I'm sorry if your feelings were hurt," bullshit. I'm pretty surprised more prominent women aren't coming to Bachmann's defense, so kudos to Rep. Nita Lowey, Democrat of New York, who says it best:
“I do not share Michele Bachmann’s politcis....but she deserves to be treated with respect. No female politician — and no woman — should be subjected to sexist and offensive innuendo like she was last night.”


My take on this? You know I don't care to hear women attacked about their appearance as an alternative to substantive criticism. However, this looks like a bunch of musicians who probably don't like the politician who happens to be a woman, and play a rude, pointed song. Offensive, yes, sexist, yes, innuendo, not at all.
And she is lying.

UPDATE:
I'm on the fence about this entire entry...very close to my personal edge...until...Glenn Beck has LEAPED to  Michelle Bachmann's defense. If that doesn't prove I'm OK, I don't know what will.

What's the difference?

What's the difference between the right to an abortion and the right to circumcision?
Recently a couple towns in California voted on bills which would outlaw circumcision. These bills didn't go too far, in fact in Santa Monica the bill's sponsor regretted her action once she learned how far it would go in curtailing rights now claimed by both religious and secular people. Anyway, most people opposed limits on circumcision, believing it a personal decision (although one generally imposed on very young babies). 
Many of these same people would probably NOT oppose limits on abortion. And I wonder why? Although some might say that's it's a life on one hand and a relatively minor procedure on the other, others would disagree.